The People's Republic of China has 31 provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions.

Provinces: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Zhejiang.

Four major cities and their surrounding areas: Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing are administratively directly under the central government.

Five autonomous regions are the equivalent of provinces: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet, and Xinjiang.

Hainan became a separate province in 1988. It was previously part of Guangdong Province. Chongqing became a separate municipality in 1997. It was previously part of Sichuan.

Hong Kong and Macao are special administrative regions that are not included in statistics of the People's Republic of China.

Source: Economic Research Service.

China Agricultural and Economic Data
Related Topics

Last updated: Friday, August 11, 2017

For more information contact: Fred Gale

Assistive Options

Top of page

Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.