WOU: Call for presentations - Academic Excellence Showcase

Page Content   Main Links   Utility Links   Quick Links   Footer
Search

Academic Excellence Showcase

Call for presentations

Phi Kappa Phi (the honor society) and the Program for Undergraduate Research Experiences (PURE) are partnering in 2014 in order to offer the Academic Excellence Showcase.

On May 28th, 2015, Western Oregon University will celebrate student academic excellence. The entire day will be dedicated to the presentation of student scholarly activities, including original research papers, projects, artwork, performances, and upper-division course projects, presentations, and papers. The showcase will again be organized by the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi and the Program for Undergraduate Research Experiences (PURE). To demonstrate the importance of student scholarly pursuits at Western, the Faculty Senate is encouraging the faculty to cancel their classes, while at the same time requiring students to attend their peers' presentations. The primary objectives of the Showcase are to provide an opportunity for presenters, giving them experience that will be useful in furthering their education and careers, and to expose the entire student body to the breadth and importance of the scholarship that is being conducted across campus.

We are hopeful that you will encourage your students to participate in this event.

Please contact the appropriate discipline-specific session chair below.

Discipline/Department/Office    Session Chair    Phone    Email    Division   
Health, PE, Exercise Science    Daryl Thomas    88915    thomasda@wou.edu    Health/Exercise Science   
Janet Roberts    88446    robertsj@wou.edu    Health/Exercise Science   
Biology    Ava Howard    88702    howarda@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Jeff Snyder                                                     88224     snyderj@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Graduate School    Amber Deets                                           88492     deetsa@wou.edu    Graduate Programs   
Bill Hamlin    88704     hamlinw@wou.edu    Graduate Programs   
English (Linguistics/Literature/Writing)    Tom Rand    88258    randt@wou.edu    Humanities   
Psychology / Gerontology    David Foster    88805     fosterd@wou.edu    Behavioral Sciences   
Jaime Cloud    89211     cloudj@wou.edu    Behavioral Sciences   
Music Concert    Ike Nail    88341    naili@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Music / Research, History, Ethnomusicology    Diane R. Baxter    88542    baxterd@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Philosophy    Mark Perlman    88969    perlman@wou.edu    Humanities   
Sociology    Dean Braa    88270    braad@wou.edu    Social Sciences   
Communication Studies    Emily Plec    88819    plece@wou.edu    Humanities   
Paula Baldwin    88065     baldwinp@wou.edu    Humanities   
Politics, Policy & Administration    Mary Pettenger    88301    pettengm@wou.edu    Social Sciences   
Maurice Prize    Breeann Flesch    89489    fleschb@wou.edu    Provost/NSM   
Dance    Amy McDonnell    88827    mcdonnella@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Criminal Justice / Forensic Anthropology    Misty Weitzel    88520    weitzelm@wou.edu    Social Science   
Mathematics    Cheryl Beaver    88404    beaverc@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Michael Ward    88443    wardm@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Matthew Nabity    88916    nabitym@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Honors General Science    Philip Wade    88225    wadep@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Arlene Courtney    88207    courtna10@aol.com    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Chemistry    Arlene Courtney    88207    courtna10@aol.com    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Patricia Flatt    88644    flattp@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
History    John Rector    88294    rectorj@wou.edu    Social Sciences   
Art    Jen Bracy    88534    bracyj@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Jodie Garrison    88027    garrisonj@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Earth and Physical Science    Steve Taylor    88398    taylors@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Melinda Shimizu    89320    shimizum@wou.edu    Natural Sciences & Mathematics   
Anthropology    Robin Smith    88357    smithr@wou.edu    Social Sciences   
Teacher Education    Alicia Wenzel    88668    wenzela@wou.edu    Teacher Education   
Carmen Caceda    88409    cacedac@wou.edu    Teacher Education   
Holly Eckles    88824    ecklesh@wou.edu    Teacher Education   
Deaf Studies & Professional Studies    Michael Olivier    88324    olivierm@wou.edu    College of Education   
Abby's House    Andrea Hugmeyer    89657    hugmeyera@wou.edu    Student Affairs (TRI)   
Business and Economics    Jennifer Yang    88799    yangj@wou.edu    Business and Economics   
Theatre    Michael Phillips    88433    phillipm@wou.edu    Creative Arts   
Computer Science/Information Systems    Mitchel Fry    88339    frym@wou.edu    Computer Science / Information Systems   
Modern Languages (Spanish)    Elizabeth Braun    88523    braune@wou edu    Humanities   
Kathleen Connolly    89495     connollyk@wou.edu    Humanities   

Contact: Ethan McMahan

for additional information about this event.

return to top

Contact

Academic Excellence Showcase 503-838-8634 | or e-mail: mcmahane@wou.edu

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.