Marshall University

Page Content

Faculty Research

Faculty in the Department of Biological Sciences have diverse research interests, ranging from ecology and evlution to cellular and molecular physiology. Motivated students are encouraged to contact faculty members whose research interests them to inquire about the possibility of gaining some research experience.


Brian Antonsen

Dr. Antonsen’s research interests include neurophysiology and neuroethology.
Dr. Antonsen’s Web Page
email: antonsenb@marshall.edu
Office: Science 398
Phone: (304) 696-6496   
Anne Axel

Dr. Axel’s research interests include landscape ecology (especially of tropical dry forests), remote sensing and GIS analysis, and soundscape ecology.
Dr. Axel’s Web Page
email: axel@marshall.edu
Office: Science 260
Phone: (304) 696-2426   
Victor Fet

Dr. Fet’s research interests include evolution, and the biogeography and taxonomy of arthropods.
Dr. Fet’s Web Page
email: fet@marshall.edu
Office: Science 206
Phone: (304) 696-3116   
Philippe Georgel

Dr. Georgel’s research interests include the regulation of gene expression, and epigenetics.
Dr. Georgel’s Web Page
email: georgel@marshall.edu
Office: BBSC 241P
Phone: (304) 696-3965   
Frank Gilliam

Dr. Gilliam’s research interests include plant ecology and biogeochemistry, with an emphasis of forest ecosystems, including effects of nitrogen pollution on biodiversity.
Dr. Gilliam’s Web Page
email: gilliam@marshall.edu
Office: Science 380
Phone: (304) 696-3636   
Emily Gillespie

Dr. Gillespie’s research interests include plant evolution, systematics, biogeography and phylogenomics.
Dr. Gillespie’s Web Page
email: gillespiee@marshall.edu
Office: Science 364
Phone: (304) 696-6467   
Marcia Harrison

Dr. Harrison’s research interests include plant hormone physiology, environmental stress effects on plant growth, and the mathematical analysis of plant growth.
Dr. Harrison’s Web Page
email: harrison@marshall.edu
Office: Science 200A
Phone: (304) 696-4867   
Jeffrey Kovatch

Dr. Kovatch’s research interests include animal physiological ecology, and behavioral ecology.
Dr. Kovatch’s Web Page
email: kovatch@marshall.edu
Office: Science 116
Phone: (304) 696-3829   
David Mallory

Dr. Mallory ’s research interests include neural/endocrine factors controlling secretion of LH and FSH, and anomalies in neural/endocrine function resulting from gestational ETOH exposure.
Dr. Mallory’s Web Page
email: mallory@marshall.edu
Office: Science 350
Phone: (304) 696-7136   
Herman Mays

Dr. Mays’ research interests include phylogeography, systematics, biogeography, behavior, genomics and molecular evolution especially in the birds of East Asia and North America.
Dr. Mays’ Web Page
email: maysh@marshall.edu
Office: Science 390
Phone: (304) 696-6692   
Jennifer Mosher

Dr. Mosher’s research interests include aquatic microbial ecology, biogeochemistry and bioremediation.
Dr. Mosher’s Web Page
email: mosher@marshall.edu
Office: Science 302
Phone: (304) 696-3637   
F. Robin O'Keefe

Dr. O’Keefe’s research interests include vertebrate paleobiology, and macroevolution.
Dr. O’Keefe’s Web Page
email: okeefef@marshall.edu
Office: Science 267
Phone: (304) 696-2427   
Thomas Pauley

Dr. Pauley’s research interests include herpetology.
Dr. Pauley’s Web Page
email: pauley@marshall.edu
Office: Science 386
Phone: (304) 696-2376   
Elmer Price

Dr. Price’s research interests include stem cell therapeutics.
Dr. Price’s Web Page
email: pricee@marshall.edu
Office: Science 350
Phone: (304) 696-3611   
Gary Schultz

Dr. Schultz’s research interests include environmental metagenomics.
Dr. Schultz’s Web Page
email: schultzga@marshall.edu
Office: Science 309
Phone: (304) 696-7057   
Chuck Somerville

Dr. Somerville’s research interests include environmental microbiology.
Dr. Somerville’s Web Page
email: somervil@marshall.edu
Office: Science 270
Phone: (304) 696-2424   
Nadja Spitzer

Dr. Spitzer’s research interests include modulation of neural stem cell differentiation.
Dr. Spitzer’s Web Page
email: spitzern@marshall.edu
Office: Science 315 (inside S311A)
Phone: (304) 696-7147   
Suzanne Strait

Dr. Strait’s research interests include paleontology.
Dr. Strait’s Web Page
email: straitho@marshall.edu
Office: Science 274
Phone: (304) 696-2425   
Wendy Trzyna

Dr. Trzyna’s research interests include eukaryotic microbiology, and genomics.
Dr. Trzyna’s Web Page
email: trzyna@marshall.edu
Office: Science 302
Phone: (304) 696-6791   
Jagan Valluri

Dr. Valluri’s research interests include the cell-based production of bioproducts.
Dr. Valluri’s Web Page
email: valluri@marshall.edu
Office: Science 370
Phone: (304) 696-2409   
Jayme Waldron

Dr. Waldron’s research interests include conservation biology and herpetology.
Dr. Waldron’s Web Page
email: waldron3@marshall.edu
Office: Science 326
Phone: (304) 696-3361   
Guo-Zhang Zhu

Dr. Zhu’s research interests include mammalian fertilization.
Dr. Zhu’s Web Page
email: zhu4@marshall.edu
Office: Science 394
Phone: (304) 696-2429   
Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.