Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction

The 2014 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction Finalists

Harper Lee Logo dpi80 newsletter size

The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal have named the finalists for the 2014 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. The three books chosen to compete for the prize are: “Once We Were Brothers” by Ronald H. Balson, “Sycamore Row” by John Grisham, and “The Burgess Boys” by Elizabeth Strout. The prize, authorized by Harper Lee, is given annually to a book-length work of fiction that best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.

The public is invited to cast its votes on the ABA Journal website to help determine who the winning finalist will be. The public will act as the sixth judge, contributing a vote equal in weight to the selection committee members.

Four years ago, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the publication of To Kill A Mockingbird and to honor former Alabama law student and author Harper Lee, The University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal partnered to award the first Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. Past winners were: The Confession by John Grisham, The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly, and Havana Requiem by Paul Goldstein. The 2014 prize will be awarded in Washington, D.C., on Aug. 28, in conjunction with the Library of Congress National Book Festival, which will be held on Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C.  The winner will receive a signed copy of To Kill a Mockingbird.


For questions about the Prize, please contact Monique Fields: mfields@law.ua.edu

Local Links

Utility Links

Text Only Options

Top of page

Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.