• Lawless files amicus brief with SCOTUS on bankruptcy code case

    Illinois law professor Robert Lawless has filed an amicus brief with the Supreme Court of the United States regarding Bank of America v. Caulkett. The brief was filed in support of the respondents, asserting that Bank of America’s arguments are inconsistent with the Bankruptcy Code’s plain language, history, and fundamental policies. If Bank of America succeeds, it could be harder for people to start over after foreclosure and bankruptcy: "It will affect many people’s pocketbooks,” Lawless said.

    Arguments on the case were heard on Tuesday, March 24 with a decision expected in June.

    Read more at New Republic

  • Four alumni to be honored at the Annual Alumni Luncheon

    Each year, the College of Law honors alumni with awards presented at the Annual Alumni Luncheon. The Distinguished Alumni Award honors professional achievements and community leadership, while the Alumni Loyalty Award is given to an alumnus or alumna who has demonstrated exceptional leadership through his or her service to the College of Law Community. This year's award recipients are Diane Davies (’81), Dean Gerber (’85), Al Stonitsch (’83), and Randall Rosenbaum (’91).


  • Prof. Wilson key advisor on Utah landmark LGBT anti-discrimination bills

    It’s what many are calling the changing of tides – a truce in the cultural war over religious freedom and LGBT rights. On March 12, the governor of Utah signed SB296, a bill that bans discrimination against LGBT people in employment and housing while including exemptions for religious institutions. University of Illinois law professor, Robin Fretwell Wilson, has spent the last month advising and helping write both bills. 


  • Hawkins ('97) receives James Seaberry Award for Excellence

    Brent Hawkins ('97), partner in the Chicago office of law firm McDermott Will & Emery LLP, has been chosen as the recipient of the 2015 James Seaberry Award for Excellence by the University of Illinois College of Law Black Law Students Association (BLSA). He will be recognized at the 22nd Annual BLSA Alumni Banquet on March 7 at Monastero’s Ristorante in Chicago.


  • Mazzone appointed fellow of European Law Institute

    An expert on Constitutional law and intellectual property, Professor Jason Mazzone has been appointed a fellow of the European Law Institute (ELI). ELI’s mission is to conduct research and provide recommendations and practical guidance in the field of European legal development. Fellows are selected based on their past contributions to European Law and their anticipated future role in the work of the Institute.


  • Line-up for 2015-16 endowed lectures and Frederick Green Moot Court judges

    The University of Illinois College of Law is pleased to announce the line-up for the 2015-16 endowed lecture speakers and Frederick Green Moot Court Competition honorary round judges.

    Speakers include Annette Gordon-Reed (Harvard Law School), Henry T. Greely (Stanford Law School) Pamela S. Karlan (Stanford Law School), Raymond LaHood (former secretary of the Department of Transportation), Adam Liptak (The New York Times).

    Judges include the Honorable Sonia Sotomayor (Supreme Court of the United States), the Honorable Ann Williams (United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit), and the Honorable Jill Pryor (United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit)


  • Wells (’73) vindicated in Friendship Nine’s Civil Rights-era conviction

    This morning, at a courtroom in South Carolina, Judge John C. Hayes III threw out the convictions of the Friendship Nine, nine African American men who integrated a whites-only lunch counter in 1961. One of those men happens to be a College of Law alumnus, James Wells (’73).


  • Kaplan on CNN: Obama's uphill fight to hike taxes on wealthy

    Professor Richard Kaplan is featured on CNN discussing President Obama's plans to tackle income inequality through tax reform.

    "Tackling tax reform more broadly could be a pathway to bipartisan cooperation that creates a genuine achievement for both President Obama and the new Congress. In that context, repealing the "step-up in basis" rule and perhaps equalizing tax rates on capital gains and regular income would go a long way to simplifying tax planning and return preparation while allowing the market to allocate capital without the often nonsensical preferences embedded in the current tax code."

    Read the full article on CNN

  • Kimball Anderson, '77 named Visiting Director of the Jerome Mirza Trial Academy

    Kimball Anderson has been named the Visiting Director of the Jerome Mirza Trial Academy at the University of Illinois College of Law. The Academy is designed to teach trial advocacy and professional responsibility to the next generation of trial lawyers.


  • Alumni honored in National Law Journal's Trailblazers & Pioneers list

    Two of our distinguished alums were recently recognized in the National Law Journal’s 2014 Trailblazers & Pioneers lists. Floyd Mandell (’73) was named to the inaugural list of the “50 Intellectual Property Trailblazers & Pioneers,” and Fred Bartlit, Jr. (’60) was named to the “50 Litigation Trailblazers & Pioneers” list. 


  • Rowell in Science on the Social Cost of Carbon

    Professor Arden Rowell has published an article in Science, one of the world’s top scientific journals.

    The article advocates for an institutional process for regular Social Cost of Carbon (SCC) review and revision when used in government policy-making and suggests how scientists might contribute to improved SCC estimates.

    The social cost of carbon (SCC) is a crucial tool for economic analysis of climate policies. The SCC estimates the dollar value of reduced climate change damages associated with a one-metric-ton reduction in carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions. Although the conceptual basis, challenges, and merits of the SCC are well established, its use in government cost-benefit analysis (CBA) is relatively new.

    Full article at (subscription required)

  • Investiture of Brubaker as the Carl L. Vacketta Professor of Law

    On October 24, 2014, Ralph Brubaker was invested as the inaugural Carl L. Vacketta Professor of Law. Brubaker is considered one of the leading bankruptcy scholars of his generation. He joined the Illinois faculty in 2004.

    Watch the video of the investiture

  • College of Law launches Master of Studies in Law program

    The University of Illinois College of Law has launched a Master of Studies in Law (MSL) program and is enrolling students for the spring 2015 semester. The MSL is designed for accomplished professionals and academics who want to increase their understanding of law and legal analysis in order to strengthen their professional skills. It is a non-professional, terminal degree program designed for those who have had no legal training and who do not desire a professional law degree.


  • University of Illinois Law Review launches Slip Opinions

    Slip Opinions is a new online companion to the University of Illinois Law Review. Its purpose is to close the gap between traditional law review publications and daily online news sources. By publishing short, timely articles, Slip Opinions seeks to provide an accessible medium for scholarly discussion and reach a broad spectrum of legal readers.


  • EEOC Commissioner Feldblum delivers Vacketta-DLA Piper Lecture

    Chai Feldblum, a Commissioner of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, delivered the Vacketta-DLA Piper Lecture on the Role of Government and the Law.

    Commissioner Feldblum discussed the remarkable developments in the understanding of the sex discrimination prohibition since the enactment of the Civil Rights Act in 1964.