Topics Topics

Rural-Urban Continuum Codes


The 2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes form a classification scheme that distinguishes metropolitan counties by the population size of their metro area, and nonmetropolitan counties by degree of urbanization and adjacency to a metro area. The official Office of Management and Budget (OMB) metro and nonmetro categories have been subdivided into three metro and six nonmetro categories. Each county in the U.S. is assigned one of the 9 codes. This scheme allows researchers to break county data into finer residential groups, beyond metro and nonmetro, particularly for the analysis of trends in nonmetro areas that are related to population density and metro influence. The Rural-Urban Continuum Codes were originally developed in 1974. They have been updated each decennial since (1983, 1993, 2003, 2013), and slightly revised in 1988. Note that the 2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes are not directly comparable with the codes prior to 2000 because of the new methodology used in developing the 2000 metropolitan areas. See the Documentation for details and a map of the codes.

An update of the Rural-Urban Continuum Codes is planned for mid-2023.

    Data Set   Download as Excel
    Downloads Last Updated Next Update
    2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes Download as Excel 5/10/2013
    2003 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes Download as Excel 7/29/2004
    2003 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes codes for Puerto Rico Download as Excel 10/28/2004
    1993 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes Download as Excel 5/20/2004
    1983 and 1993 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes Download as Excel 5/20/2004
    1974 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes Download as Excel 8/6/2003

    Last updated: Friday, May 10, 2013

    For more information contact: Timothy Parker

    Share or Save this Page

    Text Only Options

    Top of page

    Text Only Options

    Open the original version of this page.

    Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.