Latest edition: Geek Subculture Through the CUNY Lens

//www.youtube.com/embed/brbtfJMuZS0

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2014.

First aired: March 30, 2014.

This month's episode explores the robust subculture of geeks, as seen through a CUNY lens. Robert Geronimo, a Brooklyn College alum, teaches kids how to draw comics on the CSI campus, and is also a comic book author and publisher. Baruch College associate prof David Gruber, also a research associate at the American Museum of Natural History, tells us all about deep sea bioflourescence. We listen in on the Nerd New York podcast that comes out of York College, then City College alumna Pamela Thomas teaches us about the historical import of black animation cels as she discusses Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids, Soul Train, the Jackson Five and her own Museum of Uncut Funk. We also visit with two professors who are using games in the classroom as part of the CUNY Gaming Network at the CUNY Graduate Center.

Guest List

Giovanni Anglin York College

Francesco Crocco BMCC

Trone Dowd York College

Mahmoud Farraj BMCC

Robert Geronimo Brooklyn College/CSI

David Gruber Baruch College

Daniel Lashley-Smith

Kathleen Offenholley BMCC

Melony Pimentel BMCC

Pamela Thomas City College of New York

Elliot Wiseman York College

Coming up on CUNY TV

Cuisine
  • Saturday, April 26 - 3:30pm
tba
  • Sunday, April 27 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 30 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 3 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, May 11 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 14 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 17 - 3:30pm
The Visual Arts
  • Sunday, May 4 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 7 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 10 - 3:30pm
Innovators and Entrepreneurs
  • Sunday, May 18 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 21 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 24 - 3:30pm

Recently aired on CUNY TV

Cuisine
  • Wednesday, April 23 - 2:00pm, 10:00pm
Season 12, #2
  • Sunday, April 20 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 23 - 8:00am
Technology
  • Sunday, April 6 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 12 - 3:30pm
Geek Subculture Through the CUNY Lens
  • Sunday, March 30 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 5 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, April 13 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, April 19 - 3:30pm
Athletics
  • Wednesday, March 26 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 29 - 3:30pm

Social Media

Main Links

Quick Links

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.