Latest edition: History

//www.youtube.com/embed/mfOUhfWHlhI

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 10, 2015.

First aired: February 22, 2015.

On this episode we revisit segments that use history to tell the story. Mike Wallace of the Graduate Center’s Gotham Center walks us through the history of New York City activism; Barry Rosen, now retired from BMCC, shares his experience being one of the 52 Iranian hostages of 1979; we explore the history of D.A.R., the Daughters of the American Revolution; and Baruch College’s Abby Anderton tells us how Beethoven’s music was used by the Nazi regime in the 1930s and 1940s, and then by a recovering Germany after that.

Guest List

Abby Anderton Baruch College

Kathleen Benson Activist, East Harlem Walking Tour

Charlene Fletcher Brown Adjunct Lecturer, Pending Member, LaGuardia Community College, Increase Carpenter Chapter of the DAR

Sarah Henry Deputy Director and Chief Curator, Museum of the City of New York

Catherine R. Ludlam Vice Regent, President, Increase Carpenter Chapter of the DAR, Prospect Cemetery Association

Madelaine Piel Pending Member , Increase Carpenter Chapter of the DAR

Wilhelmena Rhodes Kelly Alumna, Regent, Brooklyn College, Increase Carpenter Chapter of the DAR

Barry Rosen Executive Director, Public and External Affairs, BMCC

Prof. Mike Wallace Founder, Chair of Advisory Board, Gotham Center for New York City History

/extra/studywiththebest/PR2003922/abby-anderton-on-leo-brochard

Abby Anderton on Leo Brochard

The story of Leo Borchard and his untimely death in post-WWII Germany.
/extra/studywiththebest/PR2003922/barry-rosen-on-ronald-reagan

Barry Rosen on Ronald Reagan

Barry Rosen, ex-Iranian hostage, talks of life immediately after the terrifying ordeal.

Coming up on CUNY TV

Cuisine
  • Wednesday, March 4 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 7 - 3:30pm
History
  • Sunday, March 8 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 14 - 3:30pm
From Solar Power to Biodiesel: CUNY and the Environment
  • Sunday, March 15 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 18 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 21 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, March 22 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, March 28 - 3:30pm
tba
  • Sunday, March 29 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm

Recently aired on CUNY TV

Cuisine
  • Sunday, March 1 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
History
  • Sunday, February 22 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 28 - 3:30pm
The Future
  • Sunday, February 15 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 18 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 21 - 3:30pm
Season 14, Number 5
  • Sunday, February 8 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 14 - 3:30pm
The Visual Arts
  • Wednesday, February 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 7 - 3:30pm

Social Media

Main Links

Quick Links

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.