Latest edition: Restoring an America that Has Lost Its Way

//player.vimeo.com/video/108409201?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 10, 2014.

First aired: October 20, 2014.

Three years ago, reporter and former New York Times columnist Bob Herbert took to the road and traveled across the United States. What he discovered is chronicled in his new book, “Losing Our Way,” stories of brave, hard-working men and women battered by the economic downturn. He found an America in which jobs have disappeared, infrastructure is falling apart and the “virtuous cycle” of well-paid workers spending their wages to power the economy and spark further growth has been broken by greed and the gap between the very rich and everyone else.

He tells Bill Moyers, “We've lost our way… We've established a power structure in which the great corporations and the big banks have allied themselves with the national government and, in many cases, local government to pursue corporate interests and financial interests as opposed to those things that would be in the best interests of ordinary working people… It's supposed to be an egalitarian society, a society of rising standards of living, a society of a vast and thriving middle class. And we are getting farther and farther away from that ideal.”

As for solutions, Herbert says, “People need to start voting against the excessive power of the great moneyed interests. But more than that, we need a movement, a grass roots movement that will fight for the interests of ordinary men and women and for this new generation of Americans that’s coming along right now.”

For nearly two decades, Bob Herbert was a columnist for The New York Times, following a notable newspaper reporting career. He is now a Senior Distinguished Fellow at the public policy and analysis think tank, Demos, and a board member of the Schumann Media Center, from which he is presently on leave working on a major documentary.

Guest List

Bob Herbert Author, “Losing Our Way”; Distinguished Senior Fellow , Demos

Coming up on CUNY TV

Restoring an America that Has Lost Its Way
  • Saturday, October 25 - 9:00am
Keeping Faith in Democracy
  • Monday, October 27 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 29 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 1 - 9:00am
The Fight--and the Right--to Vote
  • Monday, November 3 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 5 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 8 - 9:00am
tba
  • Monday, November 10 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 12 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 15 - 9:00am
tba
  • Monday, November 17 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 19 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, November 22 - 9:00am

Recently aired on CUNY TV

Restoring an America that Has Lost Its Way
  • Monday, October 20 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 22 - 2:00am
Too Big to Jail?
  • Monday, October 13 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 15 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 18 - 9:00am
America's New War in the Middle East
  • Monday, October 6 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 8 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 11 - 9:00am
Climate Change: The Next Generation
  • Monday, September 29 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 1 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, October 4 - 9:00am
Climate Change: Faith and Fact
  • Wednesday, September 24 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, September 27 - 9:00am

Social Media

Main Links

Quick Links

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.