Latest edition: The Crusade Against Reproductive Rights

http://player.vimeo.com/video/101054304?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0

Episode Details

Original tape date: July 18, 2014.

First aired: July 28, 2014.

Roe v. Wade, the Supreme Court’s landmark decision establishing a woman’s right to an abortion, was issued more than 40 years ago, but conservatives and the religious right have been crusading ever since to have it overturned. Despite consistent public opinion to the contrary, they have patiently and relentlessly campaigned against the ruling. Their efforts are finding some success. Two major decisions and a surprise emergency ruling by the Supreme Court this last session limited health insurance coverage for contraception and gave protesters increased rights to demonstrate outside abortion clinics. Several states -- especially in the South -- and in the name, they say, of women’s health, have passed regulations that creatively use technicalities to limit access to clinics.

Bill Moyers talks about the politics of reproductive freedom with Cecile Richards, president of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America and the Planned Parenthood Action Fund. For nearly a century, Planned Parenthood has been the leading advocate for reproductive health care in the United States, with 69 affiliates nationwide, operating more than 700 health centers.

Cecile Richards has been an organizer of low-wage janitors, hotel and health care workers, the founder of the Texas Freedom Network, which defends civil liberties and religious freedom in her native state, and a deputy chief of staff to the Democratic leader in the House, Nancy Pelosi.

Coming up on CUNY TV

The Crusade Against Reproductive Rights
  • Monday, July 28 - 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 30 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, August 2 - 9:00am
The Conscience of a Compassionate Conservative
  • Monday, August 4 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 6 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, August 9 - 9:00am
tba
  • Monday, August 11 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 13 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, August 16 - 9:00am
tba
  • Monday, August 18 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 20 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, August 23 - 9:00am
tba
  • Monday, August 25 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm

Recently aired on CUNY TV

The Crusade Against Reproductive Rights
  • Monday, July 28 - 9:00am, 3:00pm
Is the Supreme Court Out of Order?
  • Monday, July 21 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 23 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, July 26 - 9:00am
Grassroots Grow Against Greed
  • Monday, July 14 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 16 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, July 19 - 9:00am
The Truth vs. DC's Propaganda Machine
  • Monday, July 7 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 9 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, July 12 - 9:00am
Chaos in Iraq
  • Monday, June 30 - 9:00am, 3:00pm, 9:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 2 - 2:00am
  • Saturday, July 5 - 9:00am
Too Big to Fail and Getting Bigger
  • Saturday, June 28 - 9:00am

Social Media

Main Links

Quick Links

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.