Latest edition: Common Cause or Great Divide? Education in Cuba and the U.S. - Part 2

//www.youtube.com/embed/m_VlfQNT6T8

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 8, 2016.

First aired: January 27, 2016.

Can Cuba maintain its international position in the forefront of literacy education?  How will a more open relationship with the U.S. affect its education policies? This two-part special brings the latest information on education in Cuba: its successes, challenges, and where it’s headed. Linda Hirsch interviews Professors Elys Vasquez-Iscan and Lisa Tappeiner, two CUNY professors who recently visited Cuba with other Hostos colleagues to exchange ideas and practices. Part One considers the early childhood years in Cuba and Part Two examines higher education. A candid, up-to-the minute discussion of education practices in Cuba today and how the U.S. can help promote positive change.

Guest List

Prof. Lisa Tappeiner Professor, Hostos Community College/CUNY

Prof. Elys Vasquez-Iscan, Ph.D. MPH Professor, Hostos Community College/CUNY

Coming up on CUNY TV

Educating the Homeless Child
  • Wednesday, February 17 - 10:00am, 3:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, February 20 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, February 21 - 10:00am
tba
  • Wednesday, February 24 - 10:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 27 - 5:30pm

Recently aired on CUNY TV

Common Cause or Great Divide? Education in Cuba and the U.S. - Part 2
  • Wednesday, January 27 - 10:30am, 3:30pm, 8:00pm
  • Saturday, January 30 - 5:30pm
Common Cause or Great Divide? Education in Cuba and the U.S., Part 1
  • Wednesday, January 20 - 10:00am, 3:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, January 23 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, January 24 - 10:00am

Main Links

Quick Links

Assistive Options

Top of page


Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.