Latest edition: July 2015 (In French with English subtitles)

//www.youtube.com/embed/sb9TmUKXKdM

Episode Details

Original tape date: July 29, 2015.

First aired: July 30, 2015.

In this episode Canape discusses gender, race, and French history.

First we meet Blanche Gardin, a French comedian who takes on the role of social and political critic. Her latest show in New York is no different as she covers controversial topics. Next, Mitchell Abidor gives us a history lesson on The French Revolution and The Paris Commune. Then, a trailer is shown for the re-release of the classic documentary James Baldwin: The Price of the Ticket, which tells the story of James Baldwin, who wrote semi-autobiographical accounts of racism in France and the United States. Finally, Canape sits down with the Senegalese band Djustpora for an acoustic jam session and discussion about the legacy of colonialism in Africa.

Guest List

Mitchell Abidor Historian and Translator

Pape Armand Boye Musician, Djustpora

Blanche Gardin Comedian

Oulimata Niang Vocalist, Djustpora

Coming up on CUNY TV

August 2015 (In French with English subtitles)
  • Saturday, August 29 - 2:00pm
September 2015 (in French)
  • Thursday, September 17 - 10:30am, 4:30pm, 10:30pm
  • Saturday, September 19 - 2:00pm
September 2015 (In French with English subtitles)
  • Thursday, September 24 - 10:30am, 4:30pm, 10:30pm
  • Saturday, September 26 - 2:00pm

Recently aired on CUNY TV

August 2015 (In French with English subtitles)
  • Thursday, August 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm, 10:30pm
July 2015 (In French with English subtitles)
  • Thursday, July 30 - 10:30am, 4:30pm, 10:30pm
  • Saturday, August 1 - 2:00pm
  • Thursday, August 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm, 10:30pm
  • Saturday, August 22 - 2:00pm

Main Links

Quick Links

Assistive Options

Top of page


Assistive Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a Usablenet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.