Media Relations

The Media Relations team responds to media inquiries and requests, issues news releases, and coordinates news and information among the various colleges for external and internal audiences. We keep the public informed about University developments, trends and facts; about CUNY's breadth of academic programs and research; faculty, staff and student achievements, and the University's critical role as an educational and economic engine of our city, state and nation.

Contact Us

The University and its colleges welcome inquiries from journalists, news professionals and members of the public. For questions regarding the University, please contact the Office of Communications and Marketing. Please direct inquiries concerning the colleges and the professional schools to the campus based communications professionals listed below.

University Office of
Communications & Marketing

205 E 42nd Street
New York, NY 10017

Admissions Contact Info

212-997-CUNY (2869)

Portal Help / Campus IT Help Desks

Jay Hershenson
Senior Vice Chancellor of University Relations and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Michael Arena
University Director of Communications and Marketing
646.664.9300
michael.arena@cuny.edu

Rita Rodin
Office of Media Relations
646.664.9332 

Rene Ontal
Faculty Experts Service
646.664.9309
rene.ontal@cuny.edu

CUNY Athletic Conference
Zak Ivkovic
718.997.4270
zakny@aol.com

Invest in CUNY Campaign Office
Ed Rhodes
212.5417.0164
ed.rhodes@mail.cuny.edu

CUNY Graduate Center
Jane Trombley
212.817.7179
jtrombley@gc.cuny.edu

CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Michael Arena
646.664.9300
michael.arena@cuny.edu

CUNY School of Law
Abbi Leman
718.340.4472
abbi.leman@mail.law.cuny.edu

CUNY School of Professional Studies
Michael Arena
646.664.9300
michael.arena@cuny.edu

CUNY School of Public Health at Hunter College
Michael Arena
646.664.9300
michael.arena@cuny.edu

Macaulay Honors College
Grace Rapkin
212.729.2913
grace.rapkin@mhc.cuny.edu

Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education
Ellis Simon
212.650.6460
esimon@ccny.cuny.edu

Baruch College
Christina Latouf
646.660.6114
christina.latouf@baruch.cuny.edu

Brooklyn College
Jeremy Thompson
718.951.5882
jeremythompson@brooklyn.cuny.edu

The City College
Ellis Simon
212.650.6460
esimon@ccny.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island
Ken Bach
718.982.2200
ken.bach@csi.cuny.edu

Hunter College
Susan Konig
212.772.4068
skonig@hunter.cuny.edu

John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Vivian Todini
212.237.8628
vtodini@jjay.cuny.edu

Lehman College
Alex Burnett
718.960.4992
alex.burnett@lehman.cuny.edu

Medgar Evers College
Dawn S. Walker
718.270.6901
dwalker@mec.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology
Stephen M. Soiffer
718.260.5992
ssoiffer@citytech.cuny.edu

Queens College
Maria Matteo
718.997.5593
maria.matteo@qc.cuny.edu

York College
Linda Zango-Haley
718.262.2495
lzangohaley@york.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College
Barry Rosen
212.220.1238
brosen@bmcc.cuny.edu

Bronx Community College
Diane M. Weathers
718.289.5770
diane.weathers@bcc.cuny.edu

Guttman Community College
Michael Arena
212.794.5685
michael.arena@cuny.edu

Hostos Community College
Soldanela Rivera Lopez
718.518.6872
srlopez@hostos.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College
Ruby Ryles
718.368.5543
ruby.ryles@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College
Susan Lyddon
718.482.5061
slyddon@lagcc.cuny.edu

Queensborough Community College
Stephen Di Dio
718.631.6044
sdidio@qcc.cuny.edu

About the University Office of Communications & Marketing

  • The Office of Communications & Marketing seeks to promote the achievements of the students, faculty and staff of the University, its colleges, institutes and various constituent groups by communicating the core mission of teaching, research and public service in furtherance of the University's role as New York City's public institution of higher learning.
  • The office provides strategic communications advice and integrated marketing and branding services; develops relationships with media; responds to requests for information, and coordinates news and information among the various colleges for external and internal audiences.
  • The office manages content and design of www.cuny.edu, the University's Emmy award-winning web site which garners 170,000 unique pageviews per month, and is a leader in developing integrated web-based communications technologies. These include: youtube.com/CUNY , the CUNY Channel on Youtube; iTunes University, which distributes free lectures and other programming via the iTunes store; audio and video pod casting; rss news and sports syndications; eNews, The Daily Brief, Lifelong Learning, and other e-mail newsletters and alerts; video streaming, and a comprehensive University events listings at www.cuny.edu/events.
  • The office manages CUNY Radio at www.cuny.edu/radio, the consolidated web site for the FCC licensed 10-watt stations at City College, the College of Station Island and Kingsborough Community College. CUNY Radio produces "The Faculty Lecture Series," and shows on immigration issues, sports and University news. The office publishes CUNY Matters, the University's newsmagazine, bimonthly, with a readership of more than 100,000 faculty, staff and friends of the University, and Salute to Scholars, a biannual magazine. News releases, advisories, brochures and other publications are created and disseminated by the office. Media access and interviews with faculty experts are available through the CUExperts service.
  • The office provides web and print design services and maintains an expanding digital archive of more than 12,000 images, many historic, available for use by the news media. The office convenes the Communications and Marketing Officers Council and sponsors University-wide student development programs: the Journalism, Broadcast and New Media Conference & Career Fair; the Summer CUNY/CBS TV Boot Camp; Joblog, a web-based internship/job referral service; and the Murray Kempton Awards and Internships in partnership with external news outlets.

Find It

GENERAL FINDS

TOP SEARCHES

TOP CLICKS

QUICK FINDS

College Websites

SENIOR COLLEGES

SENIOR COLLEGES

HONORS and PROFESSIONAL

COMMUNITY COLLEGES

Main Links

Login

Text Only Options

Top of page


Text Only Options

Open the original version of this page.

Usablenet Assistive is a UsableNet product. Usablenet Assistive Main Page.