About Commencement 2011

UIS Logo The 40th UIS commencement ceremony was held on May 14, 2011, at 2pm, at the Prairie Capital Convention Center in downtown Springfield, 9th and Adams streets. See our Visitors page for directions and information for out of town guests.

Speakers and Marshals

Commencement Address

Martin R. Castro, CEO and President, Castro Synergies, LLC


University President, Michael J. Hogan
UIS Chancellor, Harry Berman
Student representative, Charles L. Olivier
Board of Trustee member, Karen Hasara
Alumni Association representative, Mr. Thom M. Serafin


Graduating Students Celebrate at the UIS Colonnade Each year, the faculty and students from each academic program choose a graduating student to serve as program marshal. These students, who best exemplify the goals and spirit of their programs, are identifiable at the ceremony by the gold stoles they wear.

You can view the list of program marshals here.

The grand marshal who leads the commencement procession is a faculty member, chosen each year by a vote of his or her colleagues.

  • Dr. Donald E. O’Neal, Professor, Management

Back to Top

Distance viewing

Back to Top


Tickets are not required for admission into the ceremony.

Back to Top

Commencement Week Schedule of Events

Check back here frequently for updates.

*Denotes by invitation-only

Event    Location    Time    Contact   
Sunday, May 1, 2011   
CBM – Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Induction Ceremony    Brookens Auditorium    1:30 p.m.    Pat Sanchez –
(217) 206-7872   
Friday, May 6, 2011   
*BSU Graduation Ceremony    PAC Restaurant    4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.    Beth Hoag –
(217) 206-8312   
*Peoria Graduation Reception    Embassy Suites, East Peoria    6:30 p.m.    Jana Wise –
(309) 999-4250   
Thursday, May 12, 2011    
Public Administration Graduation Party    Stars Lounge    5:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.    Beverly Bunch –
(217) 206-6080   
Friday, May 13, 2011    
Lavender Graduation: A Celebration of LGBTQ & Allied Students at UIS    PAC G    Noon –
2:00 p.m.    Kerry Poynter –
(217) 206-8316   
Liberal Arts & Science Honors Reception    UHB First Floor Lobby    4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.    Keith Burton –
(217) 206-7435   
Diversity Center Graduation Reception    Diversity Center    4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.    Jeannie Capranica – (217) 206-6333   
*CPAA – Political Science Reception    PAC C & D    5:30 p.m.    Stacey Romager –
(217) 206-6646   
Saturday, May 14, 2011    
*CAP Honors Graduation Breakfast    PAC Cafeteria    10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.    Rowena Vail –
(217) 206-8462   
*Online Degree Graduation Brunch    Sangamon Auditorium Lobby    10:00 – 11:30 a.m.    Carol Bloemer –
(217) 206-8379   

Back to Top